Hyper Japan 2015 ~ ♡✧( ु•⌄• )

✧ My experience at Hyper Japan ✧

(∩_∩)

♡ Firstly, I’d like to thank everyone who stopped by at my table and a big thank you to my customers. I hope you enjoy my jewellery and I look forward to making you a happy customer again soon. ♡

_______________________________________________________________________________________

I have to say, the weekend has left me feeling exhausted, to the point where my eyes had swelled up so much on Monday morning. It was so worth it. . .  ଘ(੭ˊ꒳ˋ)੭✧

I had an amazing time, I got to meet lots of new people, I became familiar with what is popular among the Japanese Pop culture in London and of course which of my products are the most popular. It was a huge rush for me, but also very nerve racking for myself. I don’t go out much and as a result my confidence has gone down slightly, so I found it hard to make a conversation or even ask questions. I also regret not taking many photographs, I didn’t get to check out a lot of stalls, there were so many fun things to see.

On the Friday, I think I was one of the first exhibitors out of my row to arrive. I was quite shocked at my table, I didn’t expect it to be so small (I should have checked the size when applying for the application) but I didn’t >.< . . . so when I looked at my suitcase all I could think of was “how the hell am I going to fit all my stuff on my table?” I had a cork notice board that I had spent all night painting to look pretty and I couldn’t stand it up, as there was no room for my box to support my cork board upright. So that was my first downfall. But I managed to make things work. . . as you do.

 HJ_01

HJ_02

I got to meet Julia at LoliBunni and Laura at 8th Sin Creations who were the two amazing ladies beside me at Hyper Japan, they were so kind to guide and help me throughout the weekend. Both have completely different styles and amazing handmade jewellery and accessories. I loved how all exhibitors selling jewellery and accessories had their own style, you could clearly see the comparision between the exhibitors appearances and their products. It’s funny how we are all into the same thing, but we are able to express ourselves differently, it’s so much fun ˚✧₊⁎( ˘ω˘ )⁎⁺˳✧༚

The event started at 12:00 on Friday and I managed to make a sale within 35mins! To my surprise a young lady bought two of my Octopus keychains!!.. I was soo happy, but really shocked at the same time, because I know they are quite quirky and unusual, I didn’t think anyone would purchase them at all! I found out later on in the evening that my first customer is actually an artist herself! Her name is Danni Gregory and you can check out her online store here —> The Patchwork Kirin

She has a beautiful, kooky tentacle necklace that I am in love with, alongside handmade resin necklaces. She also does miniature sculptures, I think for dolls houses or you can use them as cute decorations for your room (◍•ᴗ•◍)

So. . . after my first sale, I began to feel a little more confident and just started enjoying myself. From time to time I could hear people singing. Some were fine, but there were a few that were really, really bad hehe. I could hear a lot of 90’s rock and pop music, I realised after that the Japanese are quite big on their 1980’s and 1990’s pop and rock! It was quite funny, I couldn’t stop laughing sometimes but I couldn’t have done any better myself. I am absolutely terrible at singing (๑>◡<๑)

Saturday was so so busy and a very successful day as business went very well. I had items selling fast that I thought would sell the least! I really thought my prints would be a success, people liked them but not enough to have one in their homes!!.. I did have a snoop around at the artists section of the fringe market, and there were a lot of prints that were priced a lot cheaper than mine, so I began to wonder if maybe I was over pricing my artwork. The popular items on my table were the mini marshmallow charms, the chocolate decoden notebooks, the wish bottle pendents, the decoden star containers and the Steven Universe ‘Together Breakfast’ keychains.

(੭ˊ͈ ꒵ˋ͈)੭̸*✧⁺˚

HJ_03

HJ_04 HJ_05 HJ_16 HJ_17

One person bought one of my tentacle statement necklaces, so that made me happy, only a few of my necklaces went home to my customers. I sold out of my doughnut wish bottle necklaces, they were quite simple and not so much in your face like the rest of my handmade accessories. I began to feel like people enjoy simple jewellery more than quirky, loud pieces of jewellery. My boyfriend actually heard a guy say that he didn’t like one of my products cause it was to in your face!!… I did feel a little upset for a few seconds but hey, you can’t force someone to like your work. Like I mentioned before, everyone has there own style, which is great! Because who wants to look the same?

I know I said I was shocked about my Octopus keychains selling, but I was even more shocked when a lady bought my decoden canvases!

HJ_14

I felt a little bad after I made this sale, because the lady wanted to buy the easels that held all my pricing. I stupidly said they are not for sale and she could buy them on my online store! It all happened so fast, I just didn’t think to give them to her. The fact that she spent over £50 on my work, I should have just given them to her for free. (If your the lady that bought these canvases PLEASE PLEASE email me at killastrations@live.co.uk and I will send them to you) 。゚(゚∩´﹏`∩゚)゚。 … I felt so stupid after, but it’s all experience at the end of the day.

I had a few visits from family and friends on Saturday. I found out an old friend was actually working at Hyper Japan, it was really nice to catch up with him, he’s such a laugh to be around. I got to see my cousin who I hadn’t seen in years, he’s all grown up now. My grandparents came all the way from Sutton to visit me, I hope Hyper Japan wasn’t to crazy for them! I also got a visit from an amazing fashion blogger/stylist, her name is Monzie . . .she does quite a bit of film work and has a few videos on youtube. I use her as one of my inspirations because she makes her own clothes and isn’t afraid of expressing herself through fashion. I was actually quite nervous when meeting her and had no idea what the hell to say to her!!.. I wish I didn’t feel like that, but it was great to see her. I hope she enjoyed Hyper Japan at the o2 (๑>◡<๑)

Now the food at Hyper Japan were a little over priced, if your as broke as I am, you would be wise enough to make your own food and bring your own water. I didn’t do that, mainly because I was so tired everytime I got home in the evenings and every morning was a rush to travel to the event. In the end my boyfriend and I bought some of our food from the food stalls. We got to try Onigiri, it’s a rice ball formed into a triangle that is usually filled with salmon and pickle, wrapped in seaweed. Our one was filled with tuna and I think mayonnaise. I could taste the vinegar in the rice and I love vinegar! I forgot to mention how hot it was at the o2. . . so a refreshing bowl of shaved ice was needed so bad! Our shaved ice had mango and some sort of white sauce, it was really tasty but more importantly very refreshing. Kept us cool for a while.

꒰⑅•ᴗ•⑅꒱

HJ_06

HJ_07

Sunday was a really slow day for us, we didn’t make as many sales as Saturday even though it was ridiculously busy, sometimes it felt busier than Saturday. Most of my time was spent taking photos of cosplayers and outfits I found inspiring. I am really fond of the Fairy Kei look, I think it’s just the different pinks and other pastel colours that attract my attention.

HJ_09

HJ_10

HJ_11

HJ_12

I am so amazed at the effort cosplayers put towards their costumes! I think it’s awesome.

Towards the end of the day, a lot of us exhibitors spent our last hour shopping, getting to know each other and exchanging business cards.

  HJ_15HJ_13

My overall experience was amazing, it was tiring but I had such a good time. I am hoping to exhibit at their next event, if not I will definetely visit and maybe I can experience Hyper Japan as a customer!

For anyone who is thinking of exhibiting anywhere for the first time I would say ~

– Take plently of cash flow, so you have enough change

– Make sure you take a bottle of water

– Take packed lunch (if you don’t fancy spending a lot of dosh on over priced food)

– Take some antibacterial wipes (sometimes things can get really dirty)

– Maybe take a loo roll (public toilets, everyone knows how they can end up at big events)

– Make sure you have enough stock

– Make sure you have enough business cards to hand out

(。≍ฺ‿ฺ≍ฺ)

I still can’t believe how quick this event came, I worked so hard in preparing for last weekend and now it’s over! I have lots of new ideas that I can’t wait to make a start on, but for now I am going to rest.

My next event is ‘The Fairy Tale Fair’ at Brighton which is on the 15th August. It’s not as big as Hyper Japan and it’s only for one day, but I am looking forward to Brighton’s craft fair (*^ワ^*)

Anyway, I hope you have enjoyed my post, I am off to sleep. . .

(ᴗ˳ᴗ)

Leave a Reply

